Name the New Harbour Ferry

 Metro transit has announced voting for the name of the new harbour ferry Currently under construction at  AF Theriault and sons In Meteghan NS. Starting today, until Wednesday, November 20th, residents can log on to and pick their favorite name from a list of five finalists. Those choices are:

Chebucto – This Mi’kmaq name means ‘the biggest harbour’. There is evidence that the Mi’kmaq would spend the summer on the shores of the Bedford Basin, before heading inland for winter.

Christopher Stannix – Christopher Stannix was a graduate of Auburn High School and attended Saint Mary’s University. In 2001 he enlisted with the Canadian Armed Forces and in 2007 willingly accepted a reduction in rank to serve his county. In April 2007, Master Corporal Stannix was killed when the vehicle he was in struck a roadside bomb. He was 24 years old.

Daniel Brownlow – Mr. Brownlow was a former Mayor of Dartmouth from 1976 until 1985 and was the longest serving Mayor in Dartmouth’s history. In addition to great service to public life, Mr. Brownlow also served as the Queen’s Harbour Master responsible for the safety of Halifax Harbour.

Robert Keddy – ‘Captain Bob’ as he was known worked as a seaman on both the Bounty and the Bluenose II. In 1969 he took over as the Captain of the Halifax-Dartmouth Ferry and later served as Ferry Services Supervisor. Captain Keddy became synonymous with the ferry service until he retired in 1998. He passed away in March 2013.

Vincent Coleman – Vincent Coleman was a train dispatcher who, on the morning of the Halifax Explosion, December 6, 1917, telegraphed a message instructing all trains inbound for Halifax to stop. Hundreds of passengers were kept away from the impending explosion because of his efforts.
Additional information and background on all of the finalists are available on

The original list of 1,200 names was shortened down to 20 names by Metro Transit and HRM Corporate Communications staff, based on appropriateness and originality. The final list of five names was determined by a selection committee comprised of Mayor Savage and one councillor from each of the three HRM Community Councils. This was the process agreed to by Regional Council.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *